A Star Wars Supercut – Andreas Hammarstrom

A NIGHT AT THE PUB – STAR WARS SUPERCUT

For my second CMP film I really wanted to play with the idea of adding a laugh track to a scene that didn’t need one, plus adding an old-timely feel to simulate an old, but weird sitcom.

This was an inspiration to my intro-sequence: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFjsOZDjnJA

The titles, the music & the editing really made me want to try this out for myself, but add an actual “fake scene” after the intro.

I started off with trying out the scene from LOTR – The Two Towers where Merry and Pippin escape the Uruk-Hai, but something didn’t quite feel right. So I looked around again, and saw that there might be a connection between the cantina scene in Star Wars IV, and the old American sitcom Cheers.

I wanted to have a real cheesy intro, and some of the shots in the cantina scene lend themselves really well to that sort of style. For example the shot where C3PO and Luke turn around to look at each other, and also all the medium close-ups of the different characters in the middle of conversation.

So as a second source i naturally chose the theme song from Cheers “Where everybody knows your name” written by Gary Portnoy and Judy Hart Angelo. It fit the style perfectly and it was a lot of fun editing this sort of intro sequence.

Aside from the intro there’s audience effects added throughout the film, laughter to change the mood of the serious scene where two random aliens at the bar try to pick a fight with Luke, Oo’s and Aah’s when stuff happens that shocks the audience and clapping/cheering when Obi-Wan knocks the guy out. (with added “Pow!” and “Kapow!” graphics for extra cheesiness).

Another thing to add is that I used something from the LOTR-series, I wouldn’t count it as my third source as it’s only a piece of sound I extracted, but important to mention nonetheless.
So basically in the Uruk-Hai scene the orcs want food, human meat specifically. They row and end up cutting the heads off of two smaller orcs on which they all feed on.
Now, in the cantina scene in Star Wars IV, Obi-Wan also severs a limb; the arm of Luke’s assailant. So what I did was add the sound from LOTR, of an Uruk-Hai saying: Looks like meat’s back on the menu boys! But made it look/sound like Chewbacca was saying it. A little easter egg for LOTR-fans but I’ll have to admit it had me giggling a few times along the process.

As my third source I chose the song “Spanish Flea” by Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass, to me this is the perfect goofy track, it really works anywhere for anything. What I wanted to do with this was to mask and replace the original music that’s played in the cantina. So I automated the volume to shift: When there was a closeup of the band the music was loud and clear, but when there was dialogue, and the music was clearly on the other side of the room, it was quieter, and had a slight reverb on it to make it even more spatial.

All in all it was a fun process. It’s one of those assignments when starting in the middle of the night is perfect, it’s easy to channel that night-humour when you’re actually tired.
I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed making it!

References:

Alpert, H. (1965). Spanish Flea. [Tape, Vinyl] A&M.

Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope. (1977). [film] Hollywood: George Lucas.

Portnoy, G. and Hart-Angelo, J. (1982). Where Everybody Knows Your Name. [Vinyl].

YouTube. (2017). Applause Crowd Cheering sound effect. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=barWV7RWkq0&index=2&list=PLlR4_mSk0JfOhbR5ws2AMSb-lCyrDkZIS [Accessed 14 Mar. 2017].

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers. (2002). [DVD] Hollywood: Peter Jackson.

A NIGHT AT THE PUB – STAR WARS SUPERCUT from Andreas Hammarstrom on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

