“Did You Hear?” – Niall’s Mash-Up film

“Do you ever get bad news? Like, REALLY bad news?”

After browsing YouTube for inspiration, it struck me that all the best mash-ups have some sort of context built around them – a theme that follows throughout or a story/message built up through the action/dialogue in the clips. It adds so much more comedic value and resonates a lot better with the viewer – after all, the best viral videos are the ones that really get an emotion out of you.

Realising this, I set about picking a couple of existing mashups that I though could be put in a better context. Reaction comedy is all the rage these days; Kids React, H3H3 Productions etc have made a name for themselves through using their words and actions to display their opinions in a funny way. But what about the other way around? What about using existing clips as a reaction to something that I have created? Well, That’s exactly what I set out to do.

After shooting a simple scene with my housemate Ben, I used clips taken from the many spit-take, “Oh my god” and “NOOOOO” supercuts on YouTube to create the idea that all these people were reacting to me, and as if what I said was the worst news in the world – in reality, it’s just simple gossip, but everything’s funnier with exaggeration. You could say I’ve done a mashup of mashups.

I wanted to push the film further into chaos as the time progressed – the reactions got more extreme, the editing got more complex and the amount of footage being shown at one time made the screen exceptionally busy. To achieve this, I brought all the clips into Adobe Premiere, shortened the clips to as small as they could go (while still showing the reaction), and overlaying multiple clips using the opacity tool. This helped me emulate the type of panic you feel upon hearing something REALLY shocking – time flies by and all the events blur together, leaving you unsure of all the finer details. I feel I properly captured this emotion, further emphasised by the famous classical piece ‘Ride of the Valkyries’, Johnny Cash’s rendition of ‘Hurt’, and the viral video ‘Best Cry Ever’.

To top it all off, I decided to throw the viewer another curveball – both me and Ben are holding cans of Irn Bru in the intro sequence, so I payed it off with an advert-style shot of me drinking the can and looking satisfied. The current Coca-Cola theme ‘Taste the Feeling’ plays over the top of this clip, a juxtaposition to the non-cola drink I’m sipping. this follows the idea of ‘surrealist comedy’, popularised by shows such as ‘The Eric Andre Show’ and ‘Tim and Eric’s Awesome Show, Great Job!’, which constantly tries to confuse it’s audience through contrast and surprise.

 

REFERENCES:

Craw, B. (2011). WATCH: The Ultimate Movie Spit-Take Reel. [online] The Huffington Post. Available at: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/01/21/the-ultimate-movie-spitta_n_812174.html
iiAFX, (2010). Ultimate “NOOOOOOOOO” Compilation by AFX. [online] YouTube. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eal4fep7pK4
Unknown Author, (2012). Oh My God – Compilation – YouTube. [online] YouTube. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vceDVxHPpxQ [Accessed 16 Mar. 2017].
Wham!, and Michael, G. (1984). Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go. [online] YouTube. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIgZ7gMze7A
Wagner, R. (1856). Ride of the Valkyries. [online] En.wikipedia.org. Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ride_of_the_Valkyries
Sewell, C. (2016). “Taste the Feeling”. [online] YouTube. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xa6mLZf5HVw
Reznor, T. and Cash, J. (2002). Johnny Cash – Hurt. [online] YouTube. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vt1Pwfnh5pc
Leave a Reply

